Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Haydn First Movement Analysis

-String quartet, with two violins, one viola, and one cello
-C major
-Allegro Tempo
-Violin carries main melody
-6/8 time

-Motif established at the very beginning of the piece is repeated throughout
-PIece modulates into minor key, then back into different major key
-Deceptive cadance towards the end of the piece, then ends with authentic cadence
-For a period, only the two violins play, while cello and viola wait out
-Seems to have binary structure, contrinually changing keys throughout

-Classical era music
-Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn
-Would be played in a formal setting, royals would likely be the intended audience

No comments:

Post a Comment